Make your own free website on

US Open Cup:
The oldestĀ and longest running soccer competition in America.

1913-14 Brooklyn Celtics Originally known as the National Challenge Cup, the competition which began in 1914 was for the top honor in the United States. The first Cup was contested by two New York City clubs - Brooklyn F.C. against Brooklyn Celtics. While the professional club defeated the amateurs, it was the Celtics that had an amazing run led by their star forward Roddy O'Halloran. One of the most dominant clubs of the professional era, Fall River F.C. won the open Cup  a record 5 times. This included the The Columbus Crew, the first club in America to have its own soccer specific stadium, were runner-up in the 1998 Open Cup. The Chicago Fire completed the double with the MLS Cup and the U.S. Open Cup.  The Chicago Fire earned their first trophy by winning the 1998 U.S. Open Cup. They added the MLS Cup later to complete a dream inagural year. This is the winning gold medal. n 2000 the Chicago Fire won the second of their 4 Open Cup titles. Chicago were also the runner-up in the 2000 MLS Cup losing by a single goal to Kansas City. The Columbus Crew won the 2002 Open Cup in their home Stadium. The 1:0 win prevented the Los Angeles Galaxy from completing a Double as MLS Cup Champions.